MY STORY

Today I’ll tell you my story

I’ll tell you the story of a girl who dripped honey from her soul

and drank from and open ended cup

Where should I start

The beginning, The middle

there is also an end that starts the beginning.

My name was once Lindiwe

a girl who waited.

My name was my only destiny

Lindiwe, waiting, wait, always in waiting.

Today I’ll tell you my story

I’ll tell from the end to the beginning from finish to start

the beginning of my story

the beginning, I was a girl child, wrapped up and waiting

I was a cloud expanding, fading and disappearing

My life was a name and it ended

Today I start from the middle

a woman reflecting the world

I wear the sun as a crown and the earth beats strong within my body

In the middle of my story

I am the child, the mother and the sister

In the middle I am the breast that you urge to touch

I am the womb that swells, holds and bleeds

In the middle of my story I giggle and flirt

I hurt

I am the laughter that erupts like liquid pleasure

I am tears and fears and fits of paranoia

Today I’ll tell you my story

I’ll start at the end

At the end my name will no longer be important

I’ll be a living memory, a pillar, a lesson maybe.

I’ll be her who listened and cried when the words were strong and the melody meaningful

I’ll  be her who treasure hand holding and the last sigh in the ear heard only by the one who brought you there

At the end of my story

I hope to be a woman who confronted fears as high as mountains

and began everything with

one

brave

step

At the end of my story

I will lie back naked and enchanted

My heart will beat like bursting lava

and my mind will erupt and scatter like starts

I’ll be heavily laden with life

and my dark skin will bare fruit.

Today I’ll tell you my story

Leave a Reply

